Dessert: Malted Chocolate Cupcakes

16 Nov

I am not a fan of chocolate anything {crazy I know}, but that still doesn’t stop me from making chocolately goodness for desserts for my staff, husband, and family.  I came across these delicious looking cupcakes on this blog and immediately thought of my my father in law (FIL).  My FIL lovesss any kind of dessert and has the biggest sweet tooth I know and on top of his love for dessert he also loves whoppers.  Desserts + whoppers =FIL dream 🙂  I wanted to test this dessert out before I brought them to Thanksgiving and so  last night I whipped up a batch for my staff meeting and they were a HUGE success.  I will be bringing these to Thanksgiving–YAY!!

cupcakes2

::INGREDIENTS::

2 1/4 cups flour
3/4 cup unsweetened dutch-process cocoa powder
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 cup sugar
3/4 cup light-brown sugar
1 cup milk
1 1/4 cups malted milk powder {made by carnation (or ovaltine), you can find this by the hot cocoa in the grocery}
1 cup vegetable oil
3 eggs
1 cup sour cream {i know sounds crazy but don’t leave it out–promise!}
1 tsp vanilla extract

::DIRECTIONS::

Preheat oven to 350. line two 12-count muffin tin with cupcake liners. set aside. whisk together flour, cocoa, baking soda, salt and set aside. 

In an electric mixer on medium-high speed beat the two sugars together.  

In another bowl, whisk together milk and malted milk powder until powder dissolved.  

With the mixer on medium speed, beat the malt milk mixture and oil into the sugar.  

Add the eggs one at a time, scraping down the sides of the bowl as needed.  

Add sour cream and vanilla and mix together.  

Beat in the flour mixture and stir until combined.

Fill the muffin tins with the batter, about 3/4 of the way full.  

Bake for 20 minutes, rotating the muffin tins half way through to bake evenly.  

Frost with your favorite frosting. I used Dunkin Hines Milk Chocolate frosting.  

You can also top with chopped up malted milk balls aka WHOPPERS!!

::THOUGHTS::

It was my first time making cupcakes without the cupcakes from a box and I was very leery that all of these ingredients were going to make actual cupcake batter–and suprisingly enough it did!!!

I was definately even more leery about using sour cream for the cupcakes but once again I was surprised that it just added to the consitency of the cupcake batter and to my knowledge no one knew ANY different.  It added a thickness to the batter that was needed so don’t skip out on this ingredient.   

This recipe made 24 large cupcakes so I found it made more batter than the batter from the cupcake in a box makes!! 

On some of the cupcakes I didn’t put the whoppers on top (only milk chocolate frosting!) because some people are not fans of whoppers and this made them a dessert more people could eat!

cupcakes

Happy Eating!!!

xoxoxoxo

2 Responses to “Dessert: Malted Chocolate Cupcakes”

  1. jamie April 8, 2010 at 1:41 pm #

    Awesome! I’m so happy everyone liked them.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. French Apple Tart « {W}renn's Nest - December 30, 2009

    […] Crocker.  For thanksgiving though I ventured into the world outside the box of baking and made malted chocolate cupcakes from scratch.  So I figured for my in-law’s anniversary today {HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!!} I would […]

Leave a Reply

