Lights, Camera, ACTION!

24 May

So about a month ago I bought myself {with the help of my hubby} this awesome 30D Camera and I have been shooting things every single day. Nothing of real value to post on my blog, but I have been diligent about taking pictures, reading my manual 4 million times, listening to podcasts, and reading photography blogs in order to get a grasp at the power of my camera. I still really have only scratched the surface of my camera and I am excited to take a couple photography courses at a community college in my area, but until then I am just soaking up all the information I can on the web.

One of the main things that I have learned is that it is important to start shooting in manual. wait I have to choose all the settings? oh lordy. So as soon as I got the camera I put it on manual and I haven’t changed the setting yet. okay I lie. I turned it to auto once to see if I was doing okay in manaul. only 1 pictures I swear!

The second thing I learned pretty quickly is that the kit lens is basically crap. Of course I am thankful I had a lens to just start shooting as soon I got the camera, but I knew it wouldn’t be long before I was on the hunt of my first “real” lens. Sure enough 2 weeks after I found one that was reasonably priced and could get me started on taking pictures that didn’t look like the point and shoot photos I was taking. I bought the 50mm 1.8 Canon lens and I am very thankful for this lens. I wanted something with a low aperature, without breaking the bank. I am loving it especially since it is a HUGE upgrade from the kit lens. This lens will keep me busy until I get antsy about purchasing another lens. More research is needed before I buy I second lens though.

I am learning and I am trying my hardest to get a foundation of photography and my Canon 30D camera. I have been nervous to show pictures as I know I have so much more to learn, but I need to take the jump and take a risk. It is nerve racking, but you have to start somewhere to get anywhere, right?

I couldn’t wait for this weekend to take pictures at a birthday party because I have been taking pictures of leaves, my poor husband, and food. Yup I have taken pictures of taco meat…a girl has to do what a girl has to do. HAHA. I knew it was time to get some people involved when I was excited about my taco meat pictures.

So without further ado, here are a couple of my favorite pictures from this weekend’s birthday party. I also took all these pictures with my 50mm 1.8 lens. oh happy day.

ISO 1250
1/800
f2.0

ISO 1250
1/5000
f1.8

ISO 320
1/320
f1.8

A couple things that I learned shooting the birthday party was that windows can be really tricky in getting the right light exposure. I was inside so I needed a higher ISO but they also had a ton of sunlight coming into the room at different angles. tricksters i tell you. Also, reminding myself to change the ISO more frequently. The second picture was taken as soon as I stepped foot out of the house and I didn’t think to change the ISO and so it was ISO 1250 when it really should have been much lower. Kids are extremely hard to shoot! Hats off to all those family photographers out there. whew they can give you a workout. Light is so important! The first picture was taken with just the perfect sunlight coming through the window and it really just “lit” up her face and gave her a natural glow. I now understand why people are always saying “ohhh such buttery light” or “the light was so soft.” I only got one shot in this light but it was great when I did.

So moral of the story…shooting events and kids is wayyy more fun than shooting taco meat. I am totally hooked.

3 Responses to “Lights, Camera, ACTION!”

  1. dslr reviews May 25, 2010 at 1:13 am #

    I highly recommend this camera to any serious photographer looking for a small, high quality alternative to a big DSLR with way better quality than even the best small sensor camera.

  2. Nicole May 25, 2010 at 7:13 am #

    First of all, I am seriously impressed that you actually read your camera manual. I’ve had my camera (not as good as yours) for a couple of years now and have yet to do that. I’d be taking such better pics if I had though… so maybe I should do that this weekend. Thank you for motivating me. Ha, ha.

  3. love1025 May 25, 2010 at 10:44 am #

    you can totally do this nioole!!! just pick a day and don’t take it off manual…you will be surprised at how good you really are 😉

Leave a Reply

