5k-Take TWO!

25 May

Tumblr_l2k7owawax1qbskx5o1_500_large

**No pictures of this run because I was solo on this run and was stupid and didn’t take any with my iphone. boo.**

So the goal is to do a 5k once a month until October and at the moment I can say that I have been successful! My first 5k of the year was in Groton, Massachusetts and it was very successful minus one hill.  I had to really squeeze in this month’s 5k because every weekend we had something going on and it was either last weekend or the weekend of our anniversary. um, I will pass on running a race on my anniversary…pass the champagne please! So I signed up for one next to my hometown because I was going to be going home for the weekend.  It sounded reasonable and it would be great way to start off the weekend.  Until I remembered that the day before I had closing and my feet and legs would be aching.  Although I have never given birth I think I am going to compare closing to giving birth because each time it happens I forget the agony that goes along with it and the “push towards the end,” but then as soon as it is over you forget about the pain.  haha. I am sure closing is nothing compared to birthing your child, but let me use the metaphor, pretty please.

Anyways so I completely forgot how miserable closing a building is and how sore your entire body is especially when it is 18 floor building. Plus I had to drive home late at night because closing always takes forever.  So my legs and feet were sore and I was completely tired from closing and driving 3 hours. Yes I am just full of brilliant ideas. First shopping disaster and now a race disaster?? So I went to bed hoping and praying that I would be okay to run the race because I really wanted to do one in May.  Well I woke up at 7am and surprisingly my legs and feet were not exhausted and I felt that I was in good enough shape to run the race! YAY! Maybe this wont be a disaster at all…

Show up in time to watch the kiddies run, which really is always my favorite part.  Also, this race was quite smaller than the first race so I wasn’t use to the laidback atmosphere of the race.  Plus I was doing this race solo so I felt a bit awkward and out of place.  This is the time where I wish I had taken my iphone and took some pictures of the people running the race. No joke they all looked like professional runners and their outfits were unforgetable.  One lady was wearing basically nothing but she also had 12 pack abs and so I guess she earned running naked. haha.  Some guys with shorty mcshorterson shorts with shaved legs to make them more agile, but man nothing to imagination. 

While I was doing this people watching I was totally listening to people’s conversations to keep me entertained.  Well through these conversations I found out that I was about to run a “challenging 5k.” Ummm please say more…what is so challenging?? Well we have a killer hill right at the beginning that goes into another hill…which in the end you do about 6-7 hills altogether.  I stopped counting as I was getting discouraged. You also get to see how slow you are because instead of a circle we are running a loop so you get to pass all those professional runners before you really even begin. fabulous.

I warmed up and tried to forget the word challenging and just tried to pump myself up.  All I really wanted to do was to make it through the hills running.  I died on the one hill I had at the last race and so I have been working on the treadmill for hills.  Maybe not ready for 7 hills…but I can at least do more than 1 I kept telling myself!  We get to the start line and finally figure out what direction we are suppose to be facing {tiny run a little less organized I would say}.  They shout GO!

I pace myself slower knowing that there was a killer hill coming up and I let everyone just pass me by.  I wasn’t going to hit a wall at mile .5 to say the least! I start running and see I have a running buddy who is doing about the same pace as me.  I smile and she smiles back at me and says…Cari? Holy crap I know you! Wow flashback from the past who I knew in Middle School. Um crazy! So we had our ipods and paced along side by side.  The killer hill hit and I got up the hill only to see the next hill.  Proudly I was able to get through the first hill and then 3/4 of the 2nd hill.  Once I got to the top I started running again and after that I did all of the hills! WAHOOOOOOO!! I couldn’t have been prouder! I paced with the girl but she walked the hills and then sprinted the rest but it was really nice to have someone along side to keep you going especially when you think you are hitting a wall.  I have never had a running buddy and I really liked it!

On top of my running buddy there was a woman who was wearing a bright blue tank that I followed the entire time. I kept saying that I wanted to get to her at least and even better if I could pass her.  I came close a few times, but then she would pick up the pace and I would be at the same distance I started until about 2.5 miles I was able to pass her.  Seriously she had no clue but inside I was saying….YES I WON! BOOYAHHH!! I BEAT YOU! Seriously childish, but I was so happy that I made my goal of passing this blue tanked woman.  oh the things that get you through a race!

I sprinted the last moments and I finished with a total of 38:05! I was really pleased with my results although they weren’t nearly as good as my first race BUT I felt more confident and stronger because of the hills.  Since my husband and I run at different paces it wasn’t strange to not have him in the race with me, but it was strange not having a cheering buddy at the end and a big congrats hug at the end.  I missed him during the 5k but instead I high fived my runnning buddy and said let’s do this again soon!

On a side note there was this woman who beat me with a jogging stroller with 2 toddlers in the stroller. Really? That stroller had to be heavy and yet she passed me in the first mile.  Next time I will be ready to beat the mom with the double stroller…HAHA!

Tumblr_kwlmjfdsxf1qzr04eo1_500_large

One Response to “5k-Take TWO!”

  1. Nicole May 26, 2010 at 7:16 am #

    Ha, ha. If I ran a 5k, then a woman with strollers would definitely run past me. Lol. One of my goals is to run a 5k in the next couple of years!! My knee is starting to feel better, so who knows… maybe I’ll even do it this year. And way to go on running past that blue tanked woman. I’d totally be celebrating that accomplishment too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

