Bad Day.

26 May

 

ever have those days that before you open your eyes you know it isn’t going to be good? That you already have that gut reaction to the day. totally me today.  I woke up in a bucket of sweat {ewww gross} because the fan was turned off and the door was shut and I was basically in an oven for a hour. I roll out of bed get downstairs and my lovely father in law made me breakfast {totally nice, right?}.  Well we slept at the in-laws place last night so I had to wake up at the crack of dawn to get back home in time for work only to be stuck in traffice so all I was able to do was slap on deodarant and try to make myself as presentable as possibe {second ewwww gross especially with how this morning wake up went}

So I fly down the stairs to get to my office because of the mounds of post-closing paperwork that needs to be done to find out the air conditioner is not working and it is only going to be 94 degrees out and I only work 12 stories up and we all know the saying about heat rising {third ewwww gross}.  Get through paperwork to find out that more details need to be done and it is going to take me a lifetime to finish, but needs to be complete by Friday. ohmygoodness. I then have a great salad for lunch which helped while watching last week’s modern family, which put a smile on my face.  Well that smile soon faded when I had to go have a meeting that ended badly, which led me straight into another meeting. oh and these meetings were in non-air conditioning as well because who would think it would be 94 degrees in May? {ewwwww FOURTH gross}

so I am feeling gross. kinda annoyed. kinda stressed. kinda wishing I didn’t feel guilty about fitting in a workout tonight because ice cream sounds more like the trick. kinda wish I didn’t have to work a late night program tonight and could crawl into bed wishing this day away. kinda wish that I had something better to blog about today then my pretty bad day.

BUT as I got back to my computer and went to one of my favorite sites to connect with women I found out that one of the lovely ladies lost one of her twin babies and is holding onto her second child by a thread {hold tight baby B!}.  and in that moment  I realized that as bad as my day sounds and even typing it made it sound worse…it is all relative when you see what others may be going through.  my heart could never hold all the pain people must be feeling on a second by second moment in the world, but this day has taught me to have a bit of perspective and to really not allow outside factors to impact how my entire day goes.

my bad day would be this person’s great day at the moment.  my bad day is someone elses ‘for real’ bad day.  my day today in no way compares to other people’s bad days in the world. 

and so what if I didn’t make a shower this morning–I have the ability to  have one tonight. so what if I managed to be in traffic–it allowed me to catch up on my gossip.  So what if meetings didn’t go my way–there will be plenty of meeting in my future. good and bad. so what if I am a little hot today. so if I want icecream and don’t want to work out–I have the choice.   in the end life can have it’s painful, scary, upsetting, stressful, agonizing moments and sometimes life can’t be awesome, but it also doesn’t have to be seen as bad either. because one day I will have a really bad day and this will seem like a great day. 

today I learned to try to step out of myself for a few moments and find the beauty in a day {even if it feels bad} and also realize in the end it may not be that bad after all.

Tumblr_l2tpaxqxyt1qafenno1_400_large

3 Responses to “Bad Day.”

  1. Nicole May 27, 2010 at 6:50 am #

    Ugh, sounds like a very frustrating, sticky day!! I would have called in sick and headed to the beach. Okay, okay, I wouldn’t have. But it would have been tempting. 🙂 That’s so sad about the woman losing her baby. When I’m having a bad day, I always seem to come across something like that too and then I realize that things aren’t so bad… Hope today is MUCH better for you!!!

  2. theclambroll May 27, 2010 at 8:28 am #

    I hope today is a better day!! I am so sad for JBYS…that is definitely an eye-opener to put life in perspective 😦

  3. love1025 May 27, 2010 at 8:39 am #

    it is totally heartbreaking and definately opened my eyes that it isn’t all about the stupid small stuff. hahah and yes a sticky day and situations for sureeeee 🙂 New day though 🙂

Leave a Reply

