Healthier You: Food

2 Jun

Create your own banner at mybannermaker.com!

 Okay so I will be the first to admit that when I first started blogging I was scared.  Besides my mom and BFF who was going to read this blog? Then I thought well it isn’t for others it is for me.  Well that was until this awesome blogger gave me my first comment by someone I do not know in person. HOLLLAAA!!! It was such a thrill that I can’t even put it into words…they like me…they really really like me…HAHAHA. i digress.  Anywhoo I got addicted to her blog {GO CHECK IT OUT!} I could totally see us being friends in f0 real lif e.But for now I will enjoy my first blogger friendship because she is AWESOME.  Her blog has great food, great pictures, great stories, and just great fun!  So when I needed a guest blogger she immediately came to mind because ummm she is healthy, awesome, and did I say awesome? So this awesome gal who doesn’t know me and could have dismissed my email said YES!  So I am thankful and beyond thrilled to share her  with other bloggers…{can you tell I am not a great sharer?}

So now that you feel good about the mental part of being healthy{thanks BFF!} we are going to talk about how to be healthy about what we put inside our body.  Whenever I think about being healthy my first reaction is to dwell on working out, but there is a entire side that we can’t forget about FOOD. Hope you enjoy… 

When Cari first asked me to be a guest blogger, I paused to solemnly consider the responsibility… the opportunity… the honor.

Oh, wait, who am I kidding?  I did a happy dance in the middle of my kitchen.  J  I think my favorite thing about Cari’s blog is that she’s real.  She’s like a best friend that you chat with at the end of a long day.  Her blog is fun, her writing upbeat, and I couldn’t be happier that she’d ask me to be a guest blogger while she’s away. 

Cari, I hope I do your blog justice!

Anyway, Cari helped me out by having a theme in mind.  (Can I add to the list that she’s very organized?).  So I decided to share two basic rules that I follow when it comes to eating healthy meals.  It has to taste good, and my grandparents would have to recognize the ingredients.  (Hey, I didn’t claim to be a nutritionist.  That’s my sister’s job).  🙂

Rule # 1.   

If I’m not completely satisfied with my dinner, I’ll eat it and pretend that my tastebuds are nonexistent.  But then – about fifteen minutes later –  I’ll crave chocolate. It doesn’t matter what was on the menu; I will crave chocolate if I didn’t like it.  And there’s nothing worse than craving chocolate when you work in an office like mine.  For some reason, the people around me got the idea that if they stash their chocolate donuts, chocolate bars, and chocolate muffins around my desk, the treats will last longer since I won’t pick at the goodies all day.  Sure, I don’t pick… But I do drool.  Come on, how can you not at least want it if you’re working in an office that smells like Willy Wonka’s factory?  

So, yes, rule # 1 is that I have to enjoy my food.  No bland salads or veggie burgers for lunch.  Give me the zippy dressing that adds a splash of amazing flavor to the crisp vegetables, lean meats, and shredded cheeses in my salad.  I’ll take the all-fruit smoothie, or the veggie burger (chipotle black bean, please) nestled between a whole wheat bun and spicy salsa.  And I’ll I add extra vegetables and stick to lean meats in my meals.  But I won’t cut back on the flavor… ever!

And rule #2? 

Yes, the ingredients should be pretty much straight from the farm.  It’s not that I’m afraid of tofu. 

My husband is.

A very important staple for my healthy eating is the stir-fry.  Honestly, I make stir-fries all year round, because they’re easy to throw together, hearty, full of flavor, and – more often than not – a light meal.  But as the sun becomes stronger and my house begins to feel like the inside of a brick oven, stir-fries are what I absolutely CRAVE!  By this point, I couldn’t care less about the donuts and the candy bars.  It’s like there’s a switch that’s turned on every summer and suddenly I want nothing but chilled fruits and crisp vegetables.

So what could be better than a meal that incorporates fruit and vegetables?  Seriously, it’s like the best of both worlds.  The other night, I put together this Sweet and Sour Chicken recipe that my mom had given me on the day of my bridal shower.   Who knew that pineapple could be that amazing in a stir-fry?

Enjoy the recipe! And remember, love what you eat 🙂

 

Sweet & Sour Chicken Stir-Fry

3/4 lb boneless cubed chicken

1 Tablespoon oil

1 cup green and red pepper strips

1 Tablespoon cornstarch

¼ cup lite soy sauce

1 can (8 oz)  chunk pineapple in juice

3 Tablespoons vinegar

3 Tablespoons brown sugar

½ teaspoon ground ginger

½ teaspoon garlic powder

Rice

–Cook & stir chicken in hot oil in large skillet until well browned.  Add peppers; cook & stir until crisp-tender.

–Mix cornstarch and soy sauce.  Add to the pan with pineapple (and juice), vinegar, sugar, ginger, and garlic powder.  Bring to a full boil.

–Meanwhile, prepare rice as directed on package. Serve chicken over rice.

3 Responses to “Healthier You: Food”

  1. tryityoumightlikeit June 2, 2010 at 9:48 am #

    I love stir fries! I’m going to try this on my family.

  2. Nicole June 2, 2010 at 4:41 pm #

    Hey, Cari! Hope you’re having an AWESOME vacation! 🙂

  3. Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down) June 2, 2010 at 8:56 pm #

    Love the guest post idea! And I made this recipe and LOVE it! Delish! 😀

Leave a Reply

