Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

28 Jul

Last night it was TACO NIGHT!!! One of our favorite meals, but alas not always one of our most healthiest of meals.  We were able to make it a little bit more healthy for us in using my father in law’s {FIL} recipe for tacos {gracias!!}. 

A little side note before our delicious tacos: For my FIL he has to eat healthy because his life literally depends on it.  He had a transplant over 20 years ago and one of the main requirements of a change in his lifestyle is a huge reduction in salt. Average person should be cosuming no more than 2400mg of sodium a day.  For my FIL that number needs to be more around 800mg a day.   Come to find out…EVERYTHING HAS SALT IN IT!! And not just a little sprinkle here or there. Nope huge amounts of it {sometimes for no good reason}. Check anything in the grocery store and you will just cringed at the sodium amounts on labels now.  Since I have known my husband salt has been something that we always keep in the back of our mind when thinking of going out to dinner with his family, or cooking a meal and even for us now that we know how much salt are in products trying different alternatives that have lower sodium.  We also never have salt on the table when eating and everytime it asks for salt in a recipe I do not add it and honestly other spices give it enough punch to not even notice the difference.

 I just looked up Old El Paso Taco Seasoning Mix {this does not include the taco shells} was 580mg for a packet! HOLY SMOKES!!!

So the first time we had this homemade taco seasoning mix was at my husband’s family house and I couldn’t tell the difference and a bonus was that it was far more healthier and actually cheaper in the long run. 

:::off soapbox now:::

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

1 1/2 pounds of ground beef

1 1/2 TBS of flour

1 1/2 TBS of chili powder

1/2 tsp of cumin

1/2 tsp of garlic powder

1 1/2 cups of water {if you like it less leaky try 1 cup or 1 1/4 cup}

Seriously THAT IS IT.  I know crazy, right?!?! All you do it brown up your ground beef and then add the ingredients and bring to a boil.  Have on a boil for a couple minutes and then simmer until it is the consistency you like your taco sauce.  It really is that simple.  If you like your taco sauce a little spicier just add more chili powder.

It also saves you because most if not all of these items you have in your kitchen already AND you don’t have to buy the taco kits—you can just use flour torillas, or buy hard shell tacos. Easy Peasy Nice and Easy!!!

 

not my tacos but I couldn’t do this post without some sort of taco picture!!

next time I will take a picture of it so you can see to believe it doesn’t look ANY different–promise!

 

Any changes you have had to make because of health issues in your family?

2 Responses to “Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix”

  1. Nicole July 29, 2010 at 6:59 am #

    That recipe looks awesome! I make my own taco seasoning too, but I have no idea what I put in it. Ha, ha. It’s a little of this and a little of that. I’ve been meaning to actually figure out the measurements so that I could blog about it. But if I’m feeling too busy next week to do all that, I’ll probably make this recipe for dinner. Looks so easy and sounds so yummy!! Thanks for sharing!!!

  2. love1025 July 29, 2010 at 9:21 am #

    ohhhhh i can’t wait to hear about your homemade taco mix!!! give it up! HAHA!

Leave a Reply

