Dose of Perspective.

13 Sep

 

{source}

okay so I may have once or twice on this blog told you that I am running a half marathon very very soon so my training has become to say the least more rigorous.  Finding time to run 4 miles is a little bit easier then trying to find time to run 9, 10, 11..miles.  And if I didn’t have enough of a challenge with increasing mileage I jam packed every single weekend from August {because of work} and September and October {because of fun trips!}.  I surely thought I would have found 1.4 million excuses not to work out on the weekends during all this stressful/awesome/busy time but you know what?? I kept truckin’ and have pushed through all the excuses and have continuely hit the pavement to reach my goal.

until this weekend.

since last Monday I was dreading trying to find time to fit in a 9 mile run to this past weekend.  By Wednesday I was sweating over the decisions of when to run, would I be able to do the distance, and a couple times thought it wouldn’t be such a bad idea to take a weekend off. hahaha.

So the plan was to wake up at 5am on Friday before work and get on the road by 5:30am so that I could do the 9 miles before work because right after work I had to head down to NY for the start of bachelorette weekend.  So my alarm goes off a 5am and I hit snooze once and by 5:15am my eyes are open and I start to mentally prepare for the workout and getting my clothes on.

5:30am hits and I am still in bed telling myself I need to get UP! 6:00am hits and I tell myself that if I don’t get up now then I wont have enough time for the run. 6:30am hits and I am so dissapointed and stressed out that I just sat in bed.  Who wakes up at 5:15am only to stay in bed until 7:30am???? FOR REAL!

So all day I was highly stressed of when I was going to fit this in as there would be late nights, high heels for hours, and booze involved for the entire weekend.  How was I expected to run 9 miles in all of this? Plus I would be in an area I didn’t run often and I knew the area would be all hills.  ouch. 

Then I remembered something.  My running guru friend I have spoken about before from this blog wasn’t running 9 miles this weekend, she wasn’t running a marathon. NOPE.  She was participating in the IRONMAN. Yes that would 2.5 miles of swimming, 112 miles of biking and then after all of that running 26.2 miles to the finish line.  That is when it hit me.  I need to run this 9 miles and I need to make my goal no matter how long I am in heels, how many drinks I have, or how long I am out the night before–I need to get on this road and  get one step closer to my goal. Only a few short months ago 3 miles seemed like a huge fete and now that I am about to tackle 13.1 miles I am reminded that every goal set small or large can be challenging.  If my friend can try to do an IRONMAN I can surely do 9 miles of hills during a crazy weekend, right?

So after getting in at 4:00am and setting my alarm for 7:30am to go running I was on the pavement at 8:00am on the dot Saturday morning.  I ran, and ran and gutted through the hills, through the nausea, and fatigue.  I told myself that every step is one step closer and if my dear friend could try to do an IRONMAN then I CAN DO THIS.  all I needed was a little dose of perspective and not see 9 miles as sooooo long but more as sooooo short compared to an Ironman.

As I ran into the driveway of where we were staying I was truly proud of my effort and that I was able to squeeze in a lot of fun this weekend but also not lose track of my ultimate goal. All I needed was a little perspective.  So thank you dear friend for running the Ironman this weekend because without you I might have taken a weekend off, which might have turned into a week and then turned into not completing my goal.

{head to her blog to get a recap of her amazing experience during the IRONMAN…*blog post not up yet so keep checking back..it is surely get you motivated to achieve your goals!*}

FUNNY SIDE RELATED STORY: Talk about perspective. So I was going to FB message my 9 mile run and when I went to go send it there was an error but when I looked at the status update instead of 9 miles I wrote 9 hour run. and I thought to myself…OMG I WOULD NEVER EVER RUN FOR 9 MILES!!! I had such a great laugh and kept thinking OMG noone could workout for 9 hours and thankfully that FB status never went public. Fast foward to Sunday night when my husband and I are relaxing on the couch watching TV and we were talking about our friend doing the IRONMAN and so I decide to look up how she did.  Now it was about 9:00pm our time {she was central time} and I go to look at her time and there were times for everything except for the last 7 miles of the run.  I get gravely concerned and say OMG she got hurt, she couldn’t finish the race…holy crap she must be SO UPSET! 7 miles away from being an ironman and she needs to bow out in the last 7 miles and she was doing so amazingly through it all. I am very concerned about this so I try to look more into it and find updates and get any information.   My husband and I agree that even if she was hurt she is the type not to quit and would drag her body over the finish line.   About 30 minutes later I realize….

SHE IS NOT DONE. SHE IS STILL DOING THE RACE. OMG SHE HAS BEEN EXERCISING FOR OVER 11 HOURS!!! HOLY CRAP!!!!

sure enough a little bit later her results came up on the website and a picture of her crossing the finish line hit her FB. {you will have to check her blog to get all results when she posts…gotta have some suspense!}.  And to think only a day ago I was laughing out of the absurdity of my 9 hour {almost} facebook status update. HAHAHAHAHA. jokes on me.

4 Responses to “Dose of Perspective.”

  1. Nicole September 14, 2010 at 7:12 am #

    Ha, ha. First of all, I love your recap of how you kept trying to get up but couldn’t. I would so do that! But I love your determination to run, despite how busy life is. I haven’t been doing so good this month. Here’s to doing better!!

  2. love1025 September 14, 2010 at 9:20 am #

    Thanks lady!!! I love your food/workout goals each month–they make me stop and think of goals as well 🙂

  3. Ellen September 15, 2010 at 4:15 pm #

    You are too cute, thank you so much for sending me all those positive thoughts. You have no idea how much it means to me!!

    And CONGRATULATIONS on the nine-mile run; I can’t believe you did it the same weekend as a bachelorette party. You are hard core, woman! If you can do nine miles post-party, you will absolutely sail through a half marathon. I’m so excited for you to cross that finish line – it’s the greatest feeling in the world!!

  4. love1025 September 15, 2010 at 4:30 pm #

    so happy you felt all those positive thoughts!!! I was cheering for you on the couch for sure!!! 🙂

    I can’t wait to post the blog when I can say I ran a 1/2 marathon!! AHHHH!!! it is so close in my grasp 🙂

Leave a Reply

