Homemade Pasta Sauce {yes,please}

3 Nov

#69 Making pasta sauce from scratch has been on the list for a long time.  I have wanted to make my gram’s pasta for a very long time, but the fear of it just not tasting like my gram’s kept me away from actually ever making the sauce.

Once I got the courage to try it I didn’t have a large enough pot to actually make it and so just another excuse to not make her sauce.  On our wedding registry I made sure I had a pot big enough on it to make her homemade sauce.  I didn’t get the pot for a gift and so when we got back from the honeymoon it was one of the first things on my list to get the pot.  I figured with this pot I would be invincible with making homemade sauce.

So now with the excuse of not having a proper pot was out of the way I STILL hadn’t made the homemade sauce over a year after getting the pot.  Seriously what was I waiting for?

So a couple Sundays ago I got the inspiration to make homemade sauce with sausage and meatballs.  And you wanna know what, it has been one of the best things I have done in the kitchen.  I felt closer to my grams and I felt like I was keeping a tradition alive with the homemade sauce for the next generation.  It also made a HUGE amount of sauce and so really saved quite a bit of money with making the sauce.  We have used the plain sauce for multiple dinner options, used the sauce for traditional spaghetti and meatballs with sausage, have frozen smaller sauces for quick and easy meals when we are on the go.

With it being really easy to make and with the cost effectiveness of making our own sauce I will definately be keeping this recipe around our house for many decades to come! At first I thought that the sauce was pretty leaky and I might have had too much liquid in the sauce, but after it settled in the fridge and freezer it thickened up really nicely.  If you use the sauce on the same day as making it–it might be a little leakier than desired, but don’t lose hope because the next time you use the sauce it will be perfection.

(also with a grandma’s recipe there aren’t many numbers attached since it is a dash here/dash there kinda recipe.  I will try to give the numbers I did when needed)

Here is the recipe for gram’s homemade sauce:

Ingredients:

28oz can crushed tomatoes

1028 oz can tomato sauce

2-6 oz tomato paste (or 1 12 oz)

Onions (chopped) *i used 3 medium sized onions*

Garlic (chopped) *i used minced*

Onion powder (2 tablespoons approx)

Garlic powder (3 tablespoons approx)

Oregano (1 tablespoon approx)

Parsley (2 tsp approx)

Salt/pepper (I did not put salt in mine, pepper was about 2 tsp)

Olive Oil (drizzled in pot to saute onions)

1 tablespoon sugar

Directions:

In large pot add a little olive oil with the onions and garlic (i used processor on the onions to make them really finely chopped). Saute together until onions are soft (keep stirring so garlic doesn’t burn)

Add crushed tomatoes and about 3/4 water to this can and stir.

Add can tomato sauce and about 3/4 water to this can and stir

Add the tomato paste and add three cans of water to each of the 6 oz cans (i used 2 1/2 cans)

Stir real good until the tomato paste is dissolved.

Add about tablespoon of sugar to the sauce.

Now you can add your other ingredients-garlic and onion powder, salt, pepper, oregano, parsley.  Stir together.

Cook this about 2 hours on simmer.  Occasionally stir as you let it simmer on the stove.

NOTE: If you are doing sausage and meatballs you can add the package of italian or hot sausage (doesn’t matter if it is frozen), and homemade meatballs to thee sauce.  Add these to your sauce with about 45 minutes to an hour before the sauce is done cooking.

You will have so much sauce left over that you will want to have containers to fill with sauce and sausage and meatball, containers for just sauce for meals outside of just spaghetti (like chicken parm), and you can also cook up ground beef in a pan and add to a sauce container to make a meat sauce.

Pretty simple right? We have made approximately 10-12 meals with the sauce already (one meal being for 6 people) and we have another sauce container left over.  Plus it is great to know what is in your sauce and be able to make it your own taste buds! I would recommend homemade sauce to anyone who is willing to give it a try!

{homemade meatballs recipe to put into the sauce will makes it way onto my blog this week too as a bonus!}

The person who makes it the bestest sauce of all time!xoxo

3 Responses to “Homemade Pasta Sauce {yes,please}”

  1. Nicole November 4, 2010 at 7:16 am #

    Ya know, I’ve never made homemade sauce! I just might try this!! 🙂

  2. love1025 November 4, 2010 at 11:39 am #

    You totally should nicole!!! you would love it!!! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cloudy with a chance of meatballs! « {W}renn's Nest - November 5, 2010

    […] and kinda yucky out and so the best medicine for a day like this is comfort food.  Now we have the sauce all ready and in the freezer and so we can pop that out for some italian goodness–now we only […]

Leave a Reply

