Big Changes!

5 Jul

I have been literally late for everything in my life these past few months so it would be no exception to be late wishing everyone a very HAPPY 4TH OF JULY!!!

So I alluded to hoping for some normalcy coming back to our lives in this post in early June and then really put it out there that some changes are happening in our life in this post earlier in the week.  And no mom I am not pregnant (in case my mom or anyone else was wondering these very same words)–I will keep the bakin’ a baby to my bestie and 8 other ladies I know. BABY BOOM-apalooza around me right now. Love it!

My news has to do with this scene below that has been around us for a few weeks now. Moving.    Not in the I am pregnant and need to buy and sell a house kinda crazy that my bestie just went through.   girllllllll how did you do it?! BUT the move was big enough to turn our lives upside down and inside out a bit (okay a lotta bit if I am being honest).   

madewithover[1]

a slice of what the unpacking that was ahead of us this month

So this move was about 6 months in the making and it really started with making some big time decisions about my future career early in the year.  I was at a point where I could continue the path I was taking, change career paths, put career aside to raise family, or do more of a job rather than a career focused job.  It took a ton of soul searching, talking with family and friends, and getting input and advice.  I probably could write a whole post on this process as I went back and forth and had some highs/lows with trying to decide what I wanted to do as it would significantly impact my family.  In the end and after some grueling decisions I decided that I was going to continue in this career path as I found out I wasn’t ready to give it up.  There were certainly times where I wondered if I was making the right decision for myself and my family, but now that we are closer to be settled the happiness is starting to be center stage in our lives again. Finally.  

Once that was decided we then had to decide where I was going to look for a job.  Near my husband’s current job? Near our family? Back out in California again? Maybe even Florida? North Carolina? Close to our daycare? We really were all over the place in the job hunt at points and some people in our lives probably were thinking where in the heck were they going to end up???!! They weren’t the only ones as we were thinking the same thing and to be honest it was driving us batty! We did narrow our search (New England) although we still were in limbo because my type of jobs are few and far between so I need to be as open as possible.

So after all that was decided I then had the fun job of searching/applying/networking and really getting out there for a new job.  It was a tough market out there, but I was hopeful (most weeks) and we kept our options open about what Plan B would be if the job search didn’t pan out for us.  In the end a great job landed on my lap at the end of May and it moved quickly and within a week I not only had a new job, but also a new place to live.  In my field it normally takes about a 1-2 months to really hear from jobs so the fact that it all turned into this whirlwind craziness of a week was out of control! 

happiness and panic and sad goodbyes ensued. 

We have done a move with a baby in the past, but not much changed for Lexi in the past because she was too young to really understand the chaos of moving and really everything around her stayed the same except the apartment piece. Plus when we put her down she didn’t go anywhere for the last move.   This time around it was different.  New place to live. New daycare. New playgrounds. New Peditrician.  New usual routine. New mobile baby.  New everything.  I would lay awake at night wondering if all these changes were too much for her to handle at her age and that is when I would really start to second guess our decision to move.  (Spoiler Alert: She has adjusted a lot quicker than her parents! Kids are crazy adaptable!).  I will say that moving with a toddler is no easy task.  Everything takes 5 times longer than without said toddler.  It is mentally exhausting as well because you aren’t just moving yourself and another adult–you are moving a child. Let’s just say it was quite the adventure. 

family

we look pretty happy and adjusted, right?!

So we have officially been in our new place for a week today.  Where did we end up?! Well we are in the Worcester area, which brings us about an hour closer to both of our families. We are also still close enough to stay connected to the community we built in the Lowell area. WOOHOOO!  Lexi is doing great in her new daycare and has really grown to love our new place.  I have started to adjust to the new routine of life and starting a brand new job. Everyday we are closer and closer to being unpacked.  We found the local grocery store, coffee shops, food places, and a local park.  We are adjusting to the new routine of the hub’s commute at the moment because of the routine and starting to get a little bit of normalcy back in our lives.  It has been about 6 weeks of chaos, but in reality it has been 6 months of up in the air plans for what our lives would be come this summer and it feels really good to start to settle into life. 

With so much up in the year for 2013 it feels really great to say we are starting to feel settled and have less unknown feelings.  Some people find being settled to be boring, but being crazy and living day to day is pure exhaustion for us! At this point in our life I will take routine over chaos any day! We still have a crazy long list of things to do before the summer is over, but for now it feels really nice to grill a burger and have dinner with my husband over a beer on our own kitchen table.  Oh how we missed the little things in life during this adjustment period.

So that is where I have been–moving and getting our life settled.  My life (including my computer) has been in boxes for almost a month now and so June has been a bit hodge podged! It is nice not to have ask the questions like “hey do you know what box my shorts are in?”

Oh and how was our Fourth of July? Spent time getting more acquinted with our new area, more unpacking, wine, beer,  and spending time with friends and our babies together.  And by spending time with our friends it was more like putting friends to work to help us build furniture. Hope your 4th was equally fabulous!! Stay cool!

4 Responses to “Big Changes!”

  1. Nicole July 7, 2013 at 7:19 am #

    Change can be a good thing, but it SURE is terrifying. 🙂 My husband Nate and I are talking about starting a family soon, so we’re going through similar decisions. I don’t love my current job, so I think that a change is definitely in my near future, for sure. I’m definitely excited to start a new chapter in life though! (Oh, and you only live about 30 minutes from me now. I don’t head out to that area very often, except for my trips to the Home Goods nearby. Ha, ha. Love it there!!).

    • love1025 July 7, 2013 at 7:28 am #

      Nicole this is so exciting!! Terrifying like you said but great changes ahead for you and your family!! Yayyyy!!!! And only 30 minutes?! Woohoo we need a meet up soon then 🙂 this is wonderful news!

      • Nicole July 7, 2013 at 4:21 pm #

        I was DEFINITELY thinking the same thing! 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Letter to my readers | Sweet Sweet Nothings - September 19, 2013

    […] blog has crumbled into blogs posts scattered here and there. About 2 months ago I wrote about the big changes in our family and at the end of the post alluded to the fact that we were all adjusting well and […]

Leave a Reply

